Junior 8 Ball

Australian Eight Ball Federation

2003 Australian 8 Ball Junior Championships

2003 AEBF Junior Championships Cover

Australian Eight-Ball Federation President's Message

On behalf of the Australian Eight-ball Federation and the Executive Committee, I welcome all competitors and
officials to Forest Hill Chase Shopping Centre for the 2003 Junior Australian Eight-ball Championships.

Each year I look forward. to this event as new young talent rises to National recognition. The Australian
Junior Team will be selected and five under 18 players wi11travel to The Junior World Titles in Blackpool
England in May 2003. This has become an integral part for the development of our elite young. players,
becoming future Champions.

At these Championships we can expect to enjoy enthusiasm and great sportsmanship which is always
pleasing to see in junior sports. Who wiIJ emerge as our 2003 Australian champions, which five players will
earn the green blazer to represent Australia, and have a chance at becoming World Eight-ball Junior
Champion as an individual or in the team event. Young Australians qualifying from these Nationals in the
past have done Australia proud, resulting in:-

Mathew Franceschini  W.A. – Winner of the World Junior 1995 title
Ben Crawley  N.T.-  Winner of the World Junior 1996 title
Mark Warry  S.A. – Runner-up 1996 and 1997
Our Australian Junior Team – Winners 1997 – Runner up 1998, 1999 and 2000

Congratulations to all competitors on your achievement to represent your State or Territory, and in particular
the under J 2's and anyone about to experience their first taste of National competition.

Special thanks to your parents, coaches and administrators from around Australia, who make great sacrifices
to assist you with your endeavours to achieve your goals playing this wonderful sport ofeight-ballvThis
event would not be possible without the contribution of time and devotion by some special people. I take
this opportunity to thank:-

Our hosts this year, Pool Victoria Committee, president Don Colbert, and in particular Secretary Sue

To our AEBF Junior Development Officer Heather Zappia, the championships being in her home state
this year, she has made a special effort to ensure their success.

Our major National Sponsor Consolidated Leisure and Sports; suppliers of the Mitchell Pool cloth and
Aramith bans which will be used throughout these titles.

And specific to these titles, Forest Hill Chase Shopping Centre, for giving our sport the opportunity to .»
be here and gain valuable public exposure, George Taylor, Alcock Thompson Taylor 150 years in
business providing the excellent competition tables, Chris Jolly, Workforce Financial Advisors and
Santo Zappia for their special contribution, sincere thanks.

To all Junior competitors good luck, and along with supporters and officials, please enjoy the 2003
Australian Junior Eight ball Titles in Victoria.

PRESIDENT – World Eight-ball Pool Federation – Australian Eight-ball Federation

2003 Australian Junior Development Officer

Message from Australian Junior Development Officer

On behalf of the Australian Eight Ball Federation, it is my privilege to attend the 13th Junior National 8 Ball
Championships as Junior Development Officer. It is always extra special to have your home state host these
Championships. We have 49 competitors from across Australia competing not only for the individual events,
but also the inaugural Team Championship.

I would like to thank Sue Whitten from Pool Victoria who has the dedication to help bring these
Championships to fruition. A very special thank you to Daryl Kee and the Forest Hill Chase Shopping Centre
for being incredibly supportive from the very first phone call. Thank you also to our major sponsor Mr Trevor
Attwell of Consolidated Leisure and Sport for their continued support to 8 ball throughout Australia. I would
also like to thank Mr George Taylor from Alcock, Thompson and Taylor for supplying these fantastic tables,
and for all his support to junior cuesports throughout the years. Chris Jolly from Workforce Financial Services
for the Sportsperson award, and also his commitment as Australian Junior Team Manager for this years World
Championships. A special thank you to the Tasmanian 8 Ball Council for kindly donating the inaugural Teams
trophy, in particular Cyril Triffitt and Warren Ross.

I would like to thank the parents involved for all their support, both physically and emotional1y in creating the
opportunities that enable your children to participate in this unique event.

To all Competitors I hope everyone involved takes the opportunity to make new friends and re-establish old
friendships throughout the coming week, then travel horne with lots of wonderful memories. So take the time
to enjoy the moments this weeks experience will bring you.


2003 Victoria Host State Welcome

Message from Pool Victoria President

On behalf of the Pool Victoria Committee, 1welcome everyone to the Forest Hill Chase Shopping Centre and
the Australian Eight Ball Federation's 2003 National Junior Championships. Thank you for your participation,
your interest and support. It's what makes all of the effort put into getting this ready, worth while.

All players have earned the right to participate by proving to be the best in their State. Now they are about to
challenge for the right to be the best in Australia. I wish them all the best of luck in their endeavors.

A big thank-you to those who have helped me in getting this event ready for today's opening. Those people
'are Santo Zappia for gathering sponsorship and the support of shopkeepers to supply discount vouchers
throughout the event and to Heather Zappia for just being there and guiding me through. Without them it
would have been just me and even though J have done wonders in keeping Pool Victoria going over the past
nine months, I could not have done this one without them. Also thanks to Alcocks for the supply' and setting
up of the tables and Consolidate Leisure and Sport for their support.

Another big thank-you goes to Daryl Kee, marketing manager of this magnificent Forest Hill Chase Shopping
Centre, for being so easygoing and supportiye of us holding the event here.

In this Year of the Official, I thank the umpires for giving up their time to be here and assisting in the smooth
running of the event. Good calling to you all.

I am sorry if I have missed anyone out, but if you think you deserve one, a thanks to you also! Good luck to
you all!

Susan Whitten – Secretary Pool Victoria

2003 Australian Junior 8 Ball Teams

Australian Junior Eight Ball Championships 2003

juniors 2003

Melbourne – VIC – (7th-12th April)

  Under 12 Under 15 Under 18 Manager
ACT Josh Pampling  Daniel Sostarko Shane Smith   
  . . Tim Murphy   
NSW . Ben Whitehead (vic) David England Jnr (vic)  
Singles . . .  
NT Daniel Niceforo  Daniel Crawley Tim Hyde   
  Gerry Ryan  Joshua Mills Judd Rogers   
      Ramon Dunn   
QLD Trent Searle  Doug Jenkinson Justin Thursby   
  Nathan Appleton  Chris Horne Anthony Brooker   
      Adam Grabish   
SA Jake Persello  Dion Rider Steve Waters   
  Jared Plush  Joshua Ireland Daniel Stieler   
      John Nemes   
TAS Ben McCauley  Jamie Brown David Webb   
  Kurt Dunham  Anna Gordon Marcus Jackson   
      Corey Burr   
VIC Scott Peel  Stevie Boekel  Christopher Jolly Jnr   
  Jason Iacopino  Michael Chancellor David Tangi   
      Robert Wood   
WA Brendan McGra  Justin Sajich Mitchell Panting   
  Thomas Partridg  Bradley Cramer Luke Carter   
      Michael Tomic